2001-09-10

Good weekend., posted at 10:34 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I hate not having a computer at home. I feel disconnected during weekends. Then again, I suppose there are better ways to spend my life than on the Internet.

The weekend was uncommonly good. No, I didn't have a lot of fun, but I got so much accomplished that it didn't matter. On Saturday morning, I called a couple of people in the "Penny Pincher" ad and ended up getting a used dehumidifer for $60. This made me very happy, since they were $220 at Sear's. Then, I went to a carpet outlet place, and bought a piece of carpet big enough to cover my 14'X15' room. It was just $59. I had expected to pay around $400 for both of those items, but ended up spending just $120. I was proud of my bargain hunting.

I then spent most of Saturday unpacking my stuff and setting up my room. At first, my roommates gladly let me take the basement as my room - it was gross. But I spent all day scrubbing and unpacking, and now it looks awesome. They're both jealous. I unpacked a lot of stuff that I hadn't seen in ages, like photos and posters that I haven't had room for since I lived in Akers.

One particularly cool thing about the basement was discovered over the weekend. In one of the closets, there's a working toilet. We had no idea. It was gross, but nothing that a bit Lysol won't cure. It flushes just fine. It's awesome.

Kristin left on Saturday morning, after spending a couple nights on her tour here. We discussed her performing a house concert at our place later this year. We have good facilities for it, and I think it could do well for both of us. I certainly miss putting on concerts. I think we could $5-$10 admission, and Kristin could do very well for herself. She is so good, and her new CD is awesome.

I also managed to do some lesson planning this weekend. My kids are watching "The Crucible" right now, and they seem into it. Unfortunately, the curriculum doesn't allow time to read it and then watch it, so they just get to watch it. Good thing it's a pretty great film. I am making awesome progress on the curriculum so far. We should be ready to start "The Scarlet Letter" by Monday. We didn't start it until December at Eastern last year.

My roommates and I are planning on going to an Oriole game on Thursday night. Payday is Friday - my first paycheck as a teacher. It couldn't come quick enough.