2001-09-07

staying out too late, posted at 8:19 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night, I forgot that I was a working professional and not a college student anymore, and I went to a bar on a weeknight. I now feel like I'm moving around in a cloud.

Kristin's show was at this place called Patrick's. It was a pretty horrible venue, and I didn't much like any of the other singers. In fact, Kristin was head and shoulders better than any of them. And I'm not just saying that because I'm her friend. She just has it. She is really incredible.

Unfortunately, she was only able to play three songs. She played "Dancing Stars", this incredible unnamed new song that mentions Conan O'Brien that I want her to call "Conan," and my favorite, the beautiful and heart-wrenching "Someone Else's Arms." The latter I can relate to sooo much at so many different points in my life.

She played a fourth song at the end, when her and the performers did a little unplugged roundabout cover thing. She played her version of Willie Nelson's "Always on my Mind," which I love. The other performers were not very good. They were the type that Hugasoul and I would make fun of at a concert for being old and for singing all about flowers and trees and meadows. But Kristin was so good. She has a show in Virginia tonight, then is coming back to spend the night at our place again.

We stayed out until about 10:30, and both had a couple of beers. This doesn't bode well for someone who wakes up at 5:45am every morning. I slept fine and woke up fine, but the workout was a bit tedious this morning, and my mile run was pretty much the plateau of what I could do. I'm still not sure what I'm doing in my classes. I have a guest speaker coming in to read Jonathon Edwards' Puritanical, fire-and-brimstone sermon/rant "Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God". The guest speaker is this other funny English teacher who is turning out to be a good friend.

I'm so glad it's Friday.

Can you tell I've got a little crush?

She's got a boyfriend though.