2001-07-04

random ramblings, posted at 9:01 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Bored and boring tonight at work.

Some random thoughts...

I love the new N'Sync song. That now is three songs that I like from that group. This really frightens and confuses me. I mean, I don't even listen to top 40 radio. But that "Dirty Pop" song is awesome - definitely the best I've heard from them. The lyrics are self-referencing about the music biz and to critics in a way that reminds me - dare I even say it? - of Ani DiFranco. Oh, the humanity! Anyhow, they played that song at the kids' dance tonight and I loved it.

I apparently will spend this 4th of July without seeing any fireworks. I don't think that's ever happened before. There's nothing better than the 4th of July in South Haven, watching the fireworks from the boat as the fireworks shimmer and cascade above you. I missed it this year, because of this damn job.

One thing I don't really understand is watching fireworks on TV. I don't see how anyone can find that appealing. But to each his or her own.

Katherine Hepburn is probably near her end. Most people like Audrey Hepburn better, I realize. Both my friend Annie from high school and my college friend Jake had slight obsessions with Audrey. And she is very beautiful. But I prefer my women strong, not demure, and Kate Hepburn fits that mold better. Plus, what an actress she was. From "Bringing Up Baby" to "On Golden Pond". Really good.

There have been a lot of celebrity deaths lately. Jack Lemmon's death saddened me, mostly because I sort of predicted it after seeing him looking so pale and confused on "Bagger Vance". I have such respect for older actors who are unafraid to stop working, though. Like Jessica Tandy. She worked right to end. And made some of the best films of the last couple decades by doing so.

I just rewatched "Driving Miss Daisy" and "Fried Green Tomatoes" and "Cocoon" over the last few weeks. All are pretty great movies.

June Allyson is on Larry King right now, which is why I'm talking about old actors and actresses.

Tony Clark was the Tigers' lone representative to the All-Star game. I like the rule that every team should have a representative, although many do not. But otherwise, I really wouldn't care to watch the game. Now I will. Tony probably deserved to make it, but I would have preferred Robert Fick. But I digress.

Well, I should probably walk around now so that I give the impression that I'm doing my job. Which I am, mind you. There's just not a whole lot to do this week. Yesterday, we had twice as many CA's on duty as campers in the building. Today, ratio isn't that defined, but we've got at least three campers per cA. There just isn't a whole lot to do. If it were up to me, I'd have gone with may four CA's on duty tonight. I have 30-something to work with. There's a lot of sitting around going on, but that's fine.

Hasta la vista.