2001-06-08

Music forward, posted at 11:57 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I copied this forward from someone else's diaryland, and I loved reading his so I thought I'd share. You can tell so much about a person from what kind of music they listen to.

First album you ever bought: In 1987 on my 10th birthday, I received three albums. Debbie Gibson's "Out of the Blue", Tiffany's eponymous debut, and George Harrison's "Cloud Nine". And, yes, they were real albums.

Last CD bought: "God Bless the Go Go's" (bought used for $9)

Name an album that changed your life for any reason?: Tracy Chapman's "Tracy Chapman"

CD you listen to the most: Changes a lot, I buy many and listen to them for a bit then buy more, and so on. The one album I know I'll never get tired of listening to is Brenda Kahn's "Epiphany in Brooklyn," which I still listen to at least twice a month. It's been the most influential album in my life, and it's absolutely wonderful.

Favourite album cover: Tracy Chapman - Tracy Chapman, Weezer the blue album (I like simple photography)

Album you would use to seduce someone with: Jeff Buckley "Grace"

Favourite makeout song: "Lover, You Should Have Come Over" (Buckley)

Your favourite CD from your parents' collection: One that I've bought for myself - Harry Chapin "Greatest Stories Live". One that I don't own would probably be Elton John "Goodbye Yellowbrick Road"

Song you always sing in the shower: I don't really have anything regular. The last song I sung in the shower was "Moses" by Patty Griffin, but I was singing the Melissa Ferrick rocking version.

Song or album you would want played at your funeral: Jeff Buckley "Satisfied Mind" (or at least, I'd hope so)

Favourite album when you're depressed: Juliana Hatfield, "Only Everything". Pissed off, but poppy. Makes me happy. If I'm more in a wallowing mood, some Billie Holiday. Other contendors: Brenda Kahn's "Destination Anywhere", Fiona Apple's "When the Pawn..." and anything from Ella.

Favourite album when you're driving: Fleetwood Mac's "Rumours". Even though it contributed to me rear-ending a car once, I love the driving force of this joyful album about divorce. Other contendors: Any of the three Weezer albums, India Arie's "Acoustic Soul", Melissa Ferrick's "Everything I Need," Wilco's "Being There" or Alanis Morissette's "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie."

Favourite album when you're mad at the world: Hole "Live Through This". This one's easy.

Favourite soundtrack: Recent, it's got to be the soundtrack to "O Brother, Where Art Thou?". I also love the soundtrack to the mediocre lesbian-themed flick "All Over Me." As a rule, however, I'm not a big soundtrack kind of guy.

Your guilty pleasure album (the one you hide when people come over): Tiffany "Greatest Hits", Deborah Gibson (eponymous)

If you haven't yet, now would also probably be a good time to check out my list of my favorite 50 CD's of the nineties. It'd probably be a bit different if I did it today, but I don't want to redo it - it's a perfect snapshot of where I was at that point in my life.