2001-06-07

Frustration, posted at 12:23 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It finally happened. I'm surprised it hasn't happened earlier. I overslept today. Woke up at 7:57am. School starts at 7:45am. My alarm was set for 4:47am. Oops.

This is the latest in a string of shitty things that are happening to me since that wonderful Melissa Ferrick concert. Most are my fault. Still, they're pissing me off. On top of my car being towed yesterday when I had no money and now owing one of my best friends $139, I had a long v-mail from my supervisor when I returned explaining all the things I will be doing to make up for my excused absence from training. Eight fucking things. I have to take a weekend duty alone. I have to coordinate door tags for all the Conference Assistants. I have to create and develop a "Weakest Link" game for training next week based on the camps. I have to design a bulletin board. This is on top of all my regularly scheduled duties, and coordinating the Night Receptionist Program. He e-mailed me all the things today, just in case I didn't get the message. Woo-hoo!

Not only that, but I haven't written my finals yet, and I have to write four variations of it. The first finals are on Tuesday. How will I get them copied over the weekend? I knew there was a reason I haven't turned in my keys yet to the old office. I need to grade all the soundtrack theme essays that were due last Friday - I have about 70 to grade and have only graded 4. I have to figure out the exemption rules for the finals, which I don't know because no one is paying any attention to my teaching of these freshmen. No one asks me how it's going. They're just like, "Glad that's off my hands." So, yeah, they trust me, I guess (when I don't oversleep). But can I get him (I'm talking about the principal now) to write me a recommendation? It's been 2.5 weeks since he said he'd do it. I also have to figure out how I'm going to give assignments based on the three other movies I'm showing right now because I decided I didn't want to show "Fried Green Tomatoes" to all four classes. The other ones are getting "Down in the Delta", "Marvin's Room", and "Driving Miss Daisy". All have a lot of stuff to analyze. But I haven't planned anything out. I suck.

Not only that, I haven't been to the gym in a week and feel like a fat cow. (Thank god I saw Kate last night for the first time in about a year and she told me I looked great and asked me how much weight I'd lost; otherwise I'd be at a pretty low self-esteem point right now). I'm also *really* broke and my gas light is on and I'm not sure how long my 1/15 full tank will last. I had to sell CD's last night to get some cash, including Patty Smith's "Easter" because I'm a bad hipster. But it netted me $4.

Hopefully things will get better. And I suppose I did need the sleep that I inadvertantly received this morning. Tonight, I'm going to lay into my supervisors a bit tonight about the extra responsibilities they are giving me for missing a couple-hour meeting that mostly reviewed last year's expectations. Whatever, trevor. I know that stuff. My day today won't end until 11pm. Ugh.