2001-05-29

My couch, posted at 5:16 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm going to get rid of my couch.

My beautiful, wonderfully comfortable, brown corduroy couch will be donated to Snyder-Phillips Hall this week because I don't want to move it across campus. And I certainly don't want to move it across the country.

The couch used to belong to my Aunt Tonja's father, then was given to my Aunt Tonja, who then gave it to her friend Smith. I received it four years ago during my first year as a Resident Assistant. I slept on it for a whole year in my closet, as we had tiny rooms and no room for a bed. Since then, its edges have gotten more frayed, and it's creaked a bit more every time someone sits on it, but it is still the most comfortable couch in the world. I hate to give it up. But its value is probably around $15, and it's not worth moving to North Carolina.

I'm 73% sure I want to be in North Carolina. Charlotte called to interview me, and Raleigh-Durham is still on the list as well. Fairfax County called yesterday too. Things are starting to gel.

The weekend got better after Saturday night. Erin and I went to Gale's, where we went to a great restaurant in Mexico Town called Armando's and then went to the Electronic Music Festival. The latter sucked big time - a bunch of drunk and/or stoned high school kids listening to music that was pretty much unlistenable (It reminded me of that post-Prodigy crack by Chris Rock at the MTV Music Awards a few years back: "Ah... I just love a good melody!"). But it got better Sunday with a trip to my grandmother's for a drive over to grandpa's cemetary, then to Erin's mom for a Memorial Day Cookout. A decent weekend, even though the weather sucked and I really wanted to be on the beach.

My healthiness has taken a dive over the last few days, as I haven't been to the gym since Friday and ate a lot over the weekend... Two steps forward, one step back, I suppose...