2001-05-30

Moving and a trip to NC, posted at 7:57 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I have too much shit.

I've lived a rather nomadic existence over the last six years, as I think most college students do. I've endured around 25 moves over the last few years. Yet I still never get the point that my life would be much better if it were more simplified.

I've spent about the last week in my new apartment. Everything I need and then some has been over here. Yet my old place is still half full. Today, I moved a lot of the crummy stuff that I rarely if ever use. For example, I have around 1200 CD's, but only listen to about a quarter of them.

A fantasy I had today was this - what if all my CD's were stolen? Which CD's would I purchase again? Sadly, this would only be probably around 100, if that. I should really cull my collection before the end of summer; I don't want to have to move all that crap.

I did find a good home for my trampouline today, though - some girl moving into the dorm I was moving out of. Now, if only I could find a good home for my couch...

I'm awaiting a phone interview with Fairfax County Schools at 9pm. On Friday afternoon, I will be interviewing with Harding High School in Charlotte, NC. I'm also interviewing for a spot at Millbrook High School in Raleigh, NC, on Monday.

I'm high-tailing it out of here with Jason tomorrow, and going to stay with my great aunt pam in Chapel Hill. The drive is twelve hours, which will suck. I'm hoping the area will just suck me in and not let go - grab me with its beauty and weather. I'm hoping it's a fit. I'm not sure what I'll do if it doesn't "click" for me there, because I'm sort of counting on it, I guess.

Oh, and I'm paranoid about leaving my kids with a substitute. It's my first time leaving my students with one, and, god, I'm really worried about it.

But North Carolina should be fun anyway.