2001-06-30

Saturday not-so-special, posted at 6:44 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've been on duty both nights this weekend, but it's been okay. Only 17 more nights on after tonight! That doesn't seem too long... I guess I can make it. The weekend kids have been calm and well-behaved, and my supervisees have enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. Not bad at all.

Gale came over last night pretty late, and we worked on Simon's scrapbook until almost 2:30am. We finally finished it this morning, the culmination of 6 months of toil and procrastination. It fels good to have it done, because now I feel like I can talk to or e-mail Simon again. After he opened up his apartment to us for four days over New Year's, we didn't send him anything - not even a thank you note. The scrapbook, a fictionalized account of our trip to Boston that we entitled "The Allegedly True Adventures of Simon, Mark, and Gale," was a fun project that took way too long. It was also impossibly goofy, and I'm a bit worried that few folks beyond Gale and I will see its humor. Something tells me that Simon is warped enough to get a few chuckles out of it, though.

The project did eliminate a perfect reason for Gale and I to hang out, though. Despite our protests of the project, I've really enjoyed working on it with her. I don't feel very comfortable with a lot of people alone, but she's one of the few that I do. Everyone in the camp thinks we're sleeping together, which just makes it all the more interesting.

Later today, I ended up spending some time with my grandparents at my cousin's open house this afternoon. I really would like to live near them. Are there any cool cities around Venice, Florida? Is St. Petersburg a cool city? I have no idea. I chatted with my grandparents, both in their seventies, as well as my great aunt's parents, both in their nineties. They're still fairly spry. Old people really fascinate me. They're in the sunset of their lives, and I wonder what must be going through their heads. Are they content with the way they lived their life? What sort of regrets do they have? How much faith do they have in what their next step will be? I hope I live to be 100, so I can answer some of these questions for myself.

After the open house, I joined Gale, Apryl, and Jason in helping to paint Erin's new condo. Painting sucks, but it wasn't so bad in the company of friends. Still, I had to go to work so I wasn't able to stay there long. That leaves me back here at Wonders Hall, filling time until the kids return to the dorms.