2001-06-29

More job insecurities, posted at 9:11 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

"Well, if you're not worried, then I'm not worried. But as soon as you get worried, give me a call so I can worry too, okay?" - Grandma McHenry to Mark today, about the job search

"Like I said, I don't care at all where we go. I just need to know, so I can start looking for a job." - Jason to Mark today, about where we're moving

I wish I had a clue of where I want to be.

In just one month, this job will be in its last week and I'll be looking for somewhere to live. I keep giving people pat answers to questions. Acting like I'm not worried. Acting like I've got it all figured out. Acting cool and collected.

You know what? I'm not.

I'm not worried about finding a job, I'll admit that. I'm an enthusiastic young teacher, full of ideas and idealism. While schools aren't exactly beating down my doors trying to hire me, I'm confident in my ability to find a job.

What I'm worried about is finding the right fit for me, and finding the right area for me. I'm taking a big leap here, and am worried I won't be choosing the right city or even the right region. I feel like moving away is something I need to do to, I dunno, find myself. But the prospect of choosing incorrectly is scaring the hell out of me.

What I'm also worried about is if I discover the perfect fit, but they're not hiring. Should I just move to an area I like and then find a job? Or should I find a job and then move? While I was always planning on the latter, the process hasn't been quick. I may have to go for the move and then find the job.

Money is also an issue. I got my last paycheck from substitute teaching today - a whopping $300 for 2 weeks of work. I think I got gypped by my camp job, as well. Then I went out and spent $137 on groceries and gifts at Meijer. Ugh.

Gale is on her way over, and we're going to finish Simon's book tonight. Let's hope we get this darn thing done.