2001-06-27

Conversation, posted at 12:06 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I talked with him. I have such difficulty have tough conversations. If I had talked with him last night, it probably would have come out stronger, better. As I was speaking, I was surprised to hear my voice quake a bit. By the end of the meeting, I was near tears, but more on that later. Anyhow, I did my spiel, sticking with my plan from the get-go. He apologized for yelling and promised he'd never do it again, that he had no right to do it. We agreed to disagree on the other issue, which was fine with me. He saw where I was coming from. He then said how proud of me he was for talking with me about. He said he bets I had been thinking about it all day (yup) and it must have been pretty tough to say I wanted to talk. He said how much he wanted to go over there and hug me right then. At this point, I was scared that if I tried to talk, that it would come out as crying. So I just grinned and chuckled to myself. Anyhow, things are still strained, or awkward, or whatever. But it was a good conversation. I'm glad I did it. I so rarely have serious conversations, and just aren't good at them. I can't keep my emotions in check at all. I can have a tough talk with someone else doing the growing (i.e. a kid in one of my classes, one of my staff) but when it's me, it's a whole different story.