2001-06-26

Pissed at boss, posted at 1:13 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Earier tonight, I was so angry I had a painful knot in my stomach.

I'm a bit more sedate right now, but still pretty pissed.

My boss, the director of the camps, reamed me out real good today. And I didn't deserve it at all. It was over the phone, which makes it even worse.

Here's what I was going to say to him tonight: "John, if you ever talk to me like that again, I will hang up on you and walk out on this job. I certainly don't work here for the pay. I definitely don't work here for the board. I don't even work here for the room. I work here because I enjoy kids and enjoy being part of a team. But if you continue to take away all my enjoyment from the position and treat me like you did tonight, I'll be gone. You're heading out of the country soon, and you'll be without a supervisor for these 60 employees you have. Make no mistakes - if you ever yell at me like a drill seargent again, I'll be gone. What you did tonight was unconsciousable. Even if you disagreed with my decision - and it was an educated decision based on the training I have received, even if it wasn't the decision you would have made - then you still had no right to treat me like dirt. So if you do it again, I'm gone."

I didn't say anything tonight. There was an emergency and a time never presented itself. My toned down version will probably be better anyway: "John, I didn't appreciate the way you yelled at me last night. The decision I made was defensible, and here's why. Juanita was at a post that was just created this week - last week, her job didn't even exist. I felt the side she was on was covered. If kids wanted to go on the tour and missed out, I felt like it was totally okay to send her. Besides, the office had already sent her before, as she has stated. Even if that person wasn't you who had sent her (I thought it was), I was still working off of a precedent for the evening. Yeah, so someone else may have been doing less than Juanita was at that moment and would have been less-missed. But with 60 people working together, it's sometimes tough to know how hard each and every one is working, especially when you have three sets of parents in the office and 40 other things going on. So, yeah, I made the call. It may not have been the best choice in your eyes, but it was certainly an educated choice. And I didn't deserve the yelling over the phone. There were parents in the office - do you really expect me to respond to you when you are screaming like a drill sergeant? I didn't appreciate it, John, and please don't do it again."

I've eliminated the threats and added "I" statements, which hopefully will make it better. I just have to say it, not brush it off like I usually do.

Sometimes I really hate him. I was so pissed off today.