2001-06-29

Pleasantly sunburned, posted at 12:54 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm pleasantly sunburned after a day at the beach with my mom and my dog. It's a nice feeling. After sleeping in way longer than I wanted to, Mom and I grabbed the dog and headed to Deer Lick Public Access, which is an out-of-the-way beach with a lot of rocks. Whilte it's not ideal for swimming because of the rocks, it's one of the few beaches that you can get away with having a dog at. We hung out there a bit, until Molly started irritating us (she has this habit of barking at the waves, and chasing them for miles up the beach). Then, we took her home and relaxed for the rest of the day at South Haven's South Beach, which was crowded but still peaceful.

Dinner was a trip to Clementine's, where mom and I met my sister. I love my sister, but she can be a moody bitch sometimes. Tonight was one of those nights. I spent the first half of dinner listening to her and my mom fight, until I jumped in, pretty much on my mom's side. Because, well, she was right. My sister can be a fool sometimes. Things were back to nice at the end of the meal, though, and Heidi gave me a free haircut. We also stopped off at Sleepy Hollow. Formerly Al Capone's old South Haven hangout, it's now a pricey resort. Heidi answers phones there. We met a few of the winners she works with, like Doug, a guy who talked about dealing marijuana and cocaine within five minutes of me meeting him. We also met up with Heidi's cute Mexican friend from the night of debauchery a few weekends back. She's cool.

I'm now wondering just how much I hope to accomplish tomorrow. I really need to go to the gym, because I'm feeling really fat. I felt like I was really in shape, but comparing myself to others on the beach doesn't really do a whole lot for my self confidence. So I've got to do some running. Plus, South Haven has this effect on me where I eat a whole lot more than I should, so I feel like I've really got to work that off. I have to do a bit of shopping, as I have to get gifts for Aunt Pam (for letting me stay with her while in NC - I'm thinking the "You Can Count on Me" DVD) and Patty (my 3rd cousin who I also taught last year during my internship - it's her high school graduation open house, and I have no idea what to get). I have to help out Erin with the painting of her new apartment, as well as work both Friday and Saturday nights.

It'll be a pretty busy weekend. I've got some catching up to do after being gone these last two days. It'll be tough getting back into the swing of things, and I'm definitely dragging my feet getting back there. It sounds like last night was the busiest night of camps so far (we get daily e-mail updates whether we were on duty or not), so there's going to be a guilt factor when I get back, as well (they dealt with alcohol and a camper threatening to kill another camper, among other things).

I also didn't wax and wash my car, like I said I would. Oh well.