2001-07-02

humdrum day, posted at 4:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's been a pretty humdrum day, but I'm not necessarily complaining. I slept way too late (until around 11:30am, despite the fact that I wasn't on duty last night and got to sleep at around 2:30), then had volunteered to give a prospective AHD candidate a campus tour. I figured this would take about an hour, but she was from nearby Okemos and knew the area fairly well, so I was back within a half hour.

I then had a decent workout at the gym. After not seeing the inside of the gym throughout my too-busy weekend, I worked on my back and legs. My leg workout was a bit too much, though, as I found I couldn't barely chug out more than a mile once I started running afterwards. I ended up switching over to the eliptical machine instead of the treadmill, burned off 550 calories over the span of 40 minutes, and went home. The workout was at least a start in burning off some of the massive amounts of food I ate over the weekend - ugh. Not proud of myself in that area at all.

While picking up the candidate, I saw Jerica and Hattie, and it was nice to catch up a (little) bit with them. Hattie and I have pretty much stayed on the same path throughout our time here at MSU - two years as an RA, one year as an ASAC, one year as an AHD while student teaching in secondary English. She is moving to Greece to teach at an international school there. Wow. I don't think I'd ever have the guts to make that type of move. I'm scared of 12 hours away.

Speaking of which, I'm tentatively planning a trip down to Baltimore/DC area this coming end-of-week and weekend. I'm sort of dreading the drive, but I need to do this. I can't believe it's July and I don't have a job yet. Gale mentioned she'd like to go to Baltimore, which would make the trip a lot more palatable - taking turns driving and someone to talk to will make that drive a lot better. We'll see, though. I have to set up some interviews and such with Baltimore and Prince George County and maybe Richmond, and I'm not sure if I can do that in this amount of time.

Switching gears...

I have such an addictive personality. I really think if I could cut out some of the foods that I'm addicted to, this whole healthy lifestyle thing would be a lot easier. Right now, I am so addicted to onion toasted crackers with fat-free kraft singles and ortego medium taco sauce on them. That, and wintergreen lifesavers. I go through them by the bag. Why can't I be addicted to, say, celery?