2001-05-31

Penultimate Chapter, posted at 1:57 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, the penultimate chapter of my MSU life has just come to a close. I turned off the lights and locked the door at 157 Phillips for the last time tonight, as I am done moving out of there.

The episode had me reflecting the whole time I was there.

From August 1995 through May 1996, I stayed in 123 West Holmes Hall. My roommate was Phuong Tran. Phuong and I had quite a year - a culture shock for both of us. I appreciated his quirkiness much more after we stopped living with each other. Phuong is now working at Quality Dairy and still going to school. He also got a nose job. My suitemates were Jake Standish and Jason Nusbaum, both of whom are pretty much my best friends in the world.

From August 1996 through May of 1997, I lived in 106 West Holmes Hall, directly across the hall from the room I had lived in the previous year. My roommate was Jake, and my suitemates were Bart and Jason. I haven't seen Bart in years, but I'll be living with Jason next year and Jake is married with a baby on the way.

From May of 1997 through August of 1997, I got my only taste of off-campus living when I lived with Tiffany Baron and Tony Ludlam at 306 Bogue Street in Cedar Village. I'm still friends with Tiffany, although I only see her once in a blue moon (and I called her last weekend and said I'd call back and then I forgot, so I sort of suck... sorry tiffany!). I have no clue what happened to Tony, even though the guy slept above me for a whole summer. Ah well. The summer was wonderful there in Cedar Village, and I've still got a batch of stories about it - the bat and the drunk maintenance workers, the pot-smoking neighbors, the dropping pretzels, the permagrins, the singing of "Mercedes Benz" as loud as possible before passing out, the dorky guy who bought for us and wanted Tiffany, Zach (remember him Tiffany?).

From August of 1997 through May of 1998, I lived in 206 E. Akers. I was the Resident Assistant, and my suitemate was Jake. Great year. I loved the job, the floor, and the staff.

From May of 1998 through August of 1998, I lived in Wilson Hall on the 5th floor. My roommate's name was Kris. The only thing I remember about him was that he was gay, he was a chain smoker, and he was really funny. I worked Sports Camps, and in general hated it.

From August of 1998 through May of 1999, I lived in 580 W. Akers. I was the Resident Assistant. I had a great year; I started the Common Grounds, and had just in general a great time.

From May of 1999 through August of 1999, I lived on the 3rd floor of Mason Hall. I worked the camps there, and I was a resident assistant. It was the worst summer of my life - I was mired in a deep depression that I wasn't able to shake until January. Looking back at that time, I was sure in a pretty sorry state. I have been careful to never let myself down that track ever again since that occurred.

From August of 1999 through May of 2000, I lived in 143 W. Akers. I was the Academic and Social Activities Coordinator for Akers Hall. It was a mixed year - bad in the first half (I hated being there, hated myself, hated everyone around me) and good in the first half (hey, I realized there was good to be had in res life still).

From May of 2000 through August of 2000, I lived in W-2 Wilson Hall. I was a supervisor for Sports Camps. I worked with Charsha and Gale and Joshua (we won't mention the fourth) and it was the best summer of my life. The job reinvigorated my passion for residence life, underlined my desire to teach, and in general just made me happy. I became great friends with Gale.

From August of 2000 through May of 2001, I lived in 157 Phillips Hall. I was the Assistant Hall Director of Sny-Phi Hall. It was a mediocre year - nothing too great, nothing too bad. I was bored with the job, but still found ways to enjoy it.

And now in May of 2001, I settle myself down in 1-E.Wilson Hall in an apartment twice as big as my previous one. The summer isn't exactly exciting me, but I'm not dreading it either. I'm going to get through it just fine - 7 weeks of hard work starting on June 11th. Then my time here at MSU will be done. And I will be sad.