2001-05-31

Off to Charlotte, posted at 1:45 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm off to Charlotte. Woo-hoo!

The plan is for me to leave at 3pm, meet Jason in Jackson at 4:30pm, then split driving duties to Charlotte throughout the night.

My interview with Harding University High School is at 2:00 Friday.

From what I've seen on the website, I have mixed feelings about the school - it's a magnet school, focused on science and technology and college-bound students. Newsweek just ranked the school the 30th most challenging high school program in the nation.

I've developed a passion for urban education and helping kids who aren't necessarily college bound. So Harding doesn't exactly fit that profile. But the principal is an MSU alum, and if it doesn't work out in that school, he can put me somewhere else in the district. And, heck, it might be a perfect match, with my two years in pre-medicine and my term in the Lyman Briggs science program here at MSU.

I'm excited. I also have an interview in Raleigh on Monday.