2001-05-04

Four Years Come to an End, posted at 10:50 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's Friday night, and we just finished up the walk through of the building to make sure all the college students are out. This was the last responsibility I had for my position, meaning four years in the department of residence life are now over. Wow. Two years as a Resident Assistant, a year as an Academic and Social Activities Coordinator, and a year as an Assistant Hall Director. My time in college would have been so much different if I hadn't been offered an RA job four years ago. I was a borderline candidate. Shy, lack of self-confidence, very sheltered (had never even really befriended a gay person, for example). But, thankfully, they saw something in me and I was offered a spot. Wanna know how bad my interview was? When they asked at the end if I had any questions, my question for them was, "Well, how'd I do?". I can't believe I got hired. If I hadn't been hired, how would my college life had changed? Would I belong to a fraternity? Would I party every weekend? Would I still be frustrated with my science major? Who knows. Being in res life influenced every major decision I've made in the last four years, including becoming a teacher - which is pretty much the best decision I've made. For so long, I had no idea where I would find my niche in life. I've found it. It's nice. This entry, of course, also begs the question - what the hell are you doing sitting at home on the Internet when you should be out celebrating? That's a wonderful question, actually. Kevin and I are supposed to get drunk. We've been in it together for four years, lost touch in the middle of it, and were reunited in the same position in the same building this year. We'll see if it happens. I'm feeling nostalgic, so it may.