2001-05-06

Weekend Warriors, posted at 3:12 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It was a good weekend.

Friday night, I went over to Kevin's and we did a shot and celebrated four years together in residence life. Saturday, I went with my old friend Jason to Jake and Annie's place to help them move.

Jake, Jason, and I were roommates for much of our collegiate careers. We were roomed together blindly as freshmen, and three of us hit it off. We're quite different individuals, and all sort of did our own things throughout college, but when we get together it's like all of our differences and distances has faded. They truly are great friends.

Jason and I helped Jake move all day, and it wasn't too bad at all. Annie is 6.5 months pregnant (Aurora Hope is due on August 15, which also happens to be my b-day), so she pretty much just pointed to where things should go. We worked hard all day, then got drunk together that night - and talked about the things we always talk about when we're drunk... the future, the past, and sex.

Jason says he's going to move with me wherever I go and get a fresh start somewhere, and that will be interesting. He's a good guy, and we have such an odd, competitive, and funny friendship.

Meanwhile, I'm figuring out which version of "Great Expectations" I want to show my 9th graders before we go onto something I enjoy more. I'm leaning towards the 1974 traditional version, and showing soem parts of the 1997 Ethan Hawke/Gwyneth Paltrow version. We'll see.