2001-04-06

Drinking, posted at 12:50 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I wanted to get drunk tonight.

I'm not a big drinker, by any means. I haven't drank in about two months. That doesn't necessarily mean I'm a healthy drinker, but that I'm a very infrequent drinker. The unhealthy part of that is, when I drink, I really drink. I'm probably what one could classify as a binge drinker. But less than ten times a year, and that's not so bad.

Anyhow, tonight I would have loved to have gone to the bar. It was an exciting, exhausting, and celebratory day, and it would certainly have been fun to wind down and blow off steam at Crunchy's in between singing karaoke badly.

The problem is, I have so few friends in the area that I do things like that with. I thought I had gained some "going out" friends with the other interns at school, but what was going to be weekly bar trips have not happened in months. No one answered my e-mail today about it. Erin works full time, Gale works full time and is in Detroit, Jason works full time and is in Constantine, Jake is married with a baby on the way and works full time.

What is it about me that makes it hard for me to make friends? Why can't I find anyone to go to the bar with on the Thursday night of spring break week? How will I survive in an area where I know no one at all?

Erin has planned a bar trip in a week and a half for a group of us. But I probably won't feel like it then. That's what usually happens for me when things are planned like that.

Where should I teach?