2001-04-07

Movies, Kristin Plater, more, posted at 12:22 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Just got back from seeing "Heartbreakers" with Dave. It'd been months since I saw him. He's a pretty reliable movie going pal, though. I also saw Kristin Plater at the Common Grounds. What a crush I had on her last year. Now, it's just an authentic love of her music. I could listen to her sing the phone book and it would probably make me happy. Good thing she's got great song. And what a fabulous cover artist - she kicked ass on "You Were Always on my Mind" (Willie Nelson) and "Franklin" (Katell Keonig). Back to the whole crush-on-musicians thing. I didn't like "High Fidelity" nearly as much as I thought I would. I generally like John Cusack's dry wit, and figured I'd enjoy this film. I really didn't, at least that much (perhaps high expectations doomed it for me). But one thing I did enjoy was the fact that Cusack fell in love with a folk singer. Sure, Lisa Bonet looked absolutely incredible in that film, but I like to think it's her music that first drew Cusack to her. That's something that happens to me often. For example, I definitely once had a thing for Lisa Loeb (she combined two things that "get" me - funky eyeglasses and a girl with an acoustic guitar). This whole movement for me changed a bit once I realized that probably over half of all the female musicians I like are lesbians. This has been a pretty pointless entry, and I apologize. But I'll continue anyway. I've had a pretty boring day. I didn't wake up until after 11am, the product of going to bed at around 2:30am last night and enduring a thunderstorm in the middle of the night. I then at some breakfast/lunch (a bowl of kidney beans and a bowl of raisin nut crunch). Then, I went to the gym and had a pretty good workout - worked out my chest and legs and then ran two miles in twenty minutes, which is pretty good for me. Afterwards, I came back, and was pretty sore. By now, it's around 4pm, so apparently I've been doing everything pretty slow. I'd been anxiously awaiting the Tiger game at 4:30, as I planned on curling up on my couch and grading papers while I watched the game. The game wasn't on, though. It was on the radio, which just isn't the same. I took a nap instead. I woke up at around 7:30, headed over the Common Grounds to see Kristin play (she was opening for Under Construction, who I'm not really into), then arranged to meet Dave so we could head over to AMC. I accomplished virtually nothing today. It hit me tonight that I've only got 12 school days left of my internship. Wow. I better make all those days good ones.