2000-11-06

Election 2000, posted at 14:32:38

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Here's my election ballot. I'm now officially worried about the election, so I'm attempting to persuade the 4 folks who read this regularly whom to vote for.

President: Al Gore deserves your vote. Yeah, it bugs me too that I can't pick a viable candidate who is against the death penalty (things are really bugging me about this heinous issue right now, so expect diaryland entry in the upcoming days). And it bugs me that Gore exaggerates and doesn't support gay marriage. But, you know what? Even if the race was Nadar vs. Gore with no "A vote for Nadar is a vote for Bush" factor, I would still vote for Gore, warts and all. Nadar has made his intense hatred of corporations into a career. His stance on social issues are either very low-profile or not very good. He's not even worried about the possibility of Roe V. Wade being overturned (the #1 issue in this election, by the way). The mobilization of young people that Nadar has started is exciting in a way, but I really feel like they're more committed to the movement of change than this man himself. But, you know what? Sometimes, you have to pull an Abraham Lincoln (one of the greatest men in American history) and work with change within the system. Because the alternative is horrid. In this case, it's Dubya - an imbecilic man with a small mind and a horrible smirk.

U.S. Senate: Debbie Stabenow deserves your vote in Michigan. She's a nice woman whom I've met, and her kids went to Lansing Everett high school (a diverse, inner-city high school). She's one of those politicians that actually cares. Vote for her.

U.S. House: Dianne Byrum deserves your vote not only because she's not Mike Rogers, the man who authored the legislature that requires voting registration card addresses to match up with driver's licenses (a move that has prevented or hindered many college students from voting). She also deserves it because she fights for students, a woman's right to choose, and education.

Let's get out there and vote. I'm so worried about this election that I can barely sleep.