2000-11-07

More bitching about tomorrow's election, posted at 02:15:25

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I feel healthier than I ever can remember. It's wonderful. Physically, mentally, heck, even spiritually (though in my own agnostic, faith-in-people sort of way). I feel good.

The only thing that is lingering in my mind right now is the election. Can Gore pull it off? Will the American people gain some self-respect and decide to vote for Gore behind that curtain, even though that's not what they're telling the pollsters? I truly believe that if Dubya is elected, the progress of civil rights could be set back up to thirty years. My kids could grow up in an era where abortion is left up to the states. Would my daughter have to go to a different state to exercise her right to choose?

I am amazed at the amount of young teenage girls in my school who are anti-choice. Militantly so. I understand that they've never lived in a world where there were back-alley abortions, but, then, I didn't either. I don't understand it. Both abortions and teenage pregnancies have decreased dramatically in the last decade. Is the shift in thinking because of these reductions? It's almost like Roe vs. Wade has to threatened to get young people mobilized on this issue.

Dubya is for hands-off government, except when it comes to people's bodies and executing people. I hate him.

Please, let's keep him out of office.