2000-12-18

Rut, posted at 05:30:11

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm really glad that a trip home for Christmas and a trip to Boston for New Year's are coming up, because I feel like I'm in a rut. A little stagnant. My health kick has subsided; I've been less rampant about going to the gym every day. The recent snow days and weekend have found me sleeping far too much and getting my schedule all screwed up. I'm hoping some changes in the daily routine will increase my productivity and get me going on the right track again. I met with an old class of mine Friday for the first time in months, and two folks pulled me aside to ask me if I'd lost weight. That made me feel good, that the 40 pounds since August is being noticed. But it's also made me feel guilty, because it's become a lot tougher to make it to the gym in December than it was in October. I have to get on the right track again.

Jake's going to be a dad. That's wonderful. I'm so happy for him. That was the big news.

I'm afraid I won't be able to fall asleep tonight. I slept until after 11am this morning for the second morning in a row, and it really compromises my ability to fall asleep when I do that. Yet, I continue to sleep in because it just feels so damn good.

The Scarlet Letter is getting good. I'm attempting a pretty risky activity with my students tomorrow. The kids will be making placards that they will have to wear with a letter on them. The letter will stand for any sort of adjective/character trait/personality feature that they choose (for example, "F" for "Funny"). On Tuesday, they'll have to wear it to all their classes and get their teachers to sign a form so they get credit. Then, they'll write a reflective paper on it. I hope it'll be good. I've got my fingers crossed. I feel like I've got to change the ordinary a bit, and get them excited about this book.

Only five days until I go home...