2000-12-20

Thoughts on where to live..., posted at 15:45:21

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I hate snow.

I hate the cold.

The winter makes me depressed and creates far too many opportunities for laziness for me.

The horrible weather here has made me think even more seriously about where I want to live next year. Boston and Chicago are both in the running still, but lately I've been having twinges of thought to go farther south. Baltimore, perhaps, where winters are generally around 40 degrees. Washington D.C., where it's even warmer. Maybe somewhere pretty, like Virginia or North Carolina. Hell, maybe something really drastic, like San Diego or San Francisco or Pheonix. Or somewhere that's warm and urban, like Miami. I just dunno.

I dunno. Along with these feelings is an already approaching feeling of homesickness. Perhaps it's the holidays, or perhaps it's the fact that I'm living all alone this week in a dorm designed for 800 people, or perhaps the fact that by best friend now has a man and doesn't spend much time with me, but it's been sort of a lonely week. How will I adjust to living hundreds of miles away from the only place I've known my whole life? Can I? Will I have the guts to try?

I saw my friend Michelle last night. We were best friends for a few years - she was one of the first people I met during Welcome Week freshmen year. We stayed close through about our Junior year, when she moved off-campus and started dating someone. Marques and Michelle are now married and living on the other side of town; she's teaching first grade at Waverly Elementary. I haven't seen her since the summer, and only see her a few times a year now. It was nice to see her, and her husband is nice. But Michelle is someone who doesn't even ever want to leave the Lansing area. It's what makes her happy. That contentment is something I envy and long for. And I don't think that contentment is something I could reach until I experience other things - to see what's out there.