2000-12-17

Holiday party, posted at 08:15:58

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I just got back from a little Christmas get-together. A lot of folks bailed on the party, unfortunately, but it was still pretty fun. I drank Friday night, and even though I drank quite a bit tonight, I never really got into it. I ended up cutting myself off and being able to drive home even, which I was not expecting to do. I'm not a big fan of parties necessarily. I don't do well in situations where I don't know a lot of people, and I'm not good at faking it. I enjoyed the party most when I could peg down people I knew and talk with them. I didn't meet anyone new tonight that I think I'll ever stay in contact with. One of my best friends, Jake, had a message waiting for me on voice mail when I returned. He said, "I've got some really special news I want to share with you, Mark." I'm so excited for him and Anne, if it's what I think it is. I wonder if I'll be called Uncle Mark? Meanwhile, my sister, who I had thought would be supplying me with that moniker the way her and her boyfriend have been getting serious, has had a rough week. She just moved in with the guy about six weeks ago, after a couple years of serious dating. I figured they'd get married and start popping out kids soon enough. But suddenly he told her he hasn't loved her in a year and is seeing someone else. Apparently he won't take his name off the lease, meaning Heidi has to be the one to move and not him. It really sucks for her. I always had sort of an uneasy feeling about the guy, but always attributed it to overearnest big-brothering. Maybe my instincts were right. Back to the party. My great friend Jason and his brother Sean made it, and that was cool. Always nice to see them. I hope he gets certified to teach soon. I'm getting worried he'll get stuck in a rut. He's substitute teaching now. I also officially like Erin's boyfriend now. I'd only met him once before, and my impression was that he was a nice guy, but I didn't really get to know him. I still don't really know him that well, but when he started about teaching, and I heard what a good teacher he seems to be, I really liked him. He's a cool guy. Apryl made it, so did Alan, so did Angela and Bryce, as well as Andy and his three Brazilian friends. On the suck list are Kevin, Steph, Jessica, Katie, Vlangos, Lisa, and some other folks too I'm sure. I'm tired.