2000-11-15

Two preps, or I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired., posted at 14:18:04

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Teaching two classes - having two preps - is pretty tough. I can't imagine what three will be like. I feel like I can do one of them well per day, and the other one suffers.

I'm really enjoying teaching the Seniors. I feel like I have a good relationship with the classes - jocular, fun. I feel almost guilty about enjoying it so much, because, before, I was all about teaching the younger, less-likely-to-succeed kids. I mean, these Seniors have basically "made it" through this school. What I'm trying to do is basically prepare them for college a bit more. I'm trying to make the unit I'm teaching on "Death of a Salesman" challenging, and I think I'm basically doing a good job. But I feel like the 2nd hour is going by the wayside a bit as I concentrate on the two senior classes.

I'm tired, and having a bad cold. I haven't made it to Gold's Gym in two days. I feel like crap. I think the last two sentences are related, so I'll be sure to go today. Not working out throws my whole system out of wack - I can't sleep well, I get a cold, etc. But this is evaluation week for my RA's, and the darn forms are 13 pages long. Ugh.

Life is okay.