2000-12-15

Favorite Commercials, posted at 06:04:40

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

After a night of listless television watching, I now have a few commercials that I can officially call my favorites:

* The Dell Computer one, with that goofy kid Steven. It is so funny. I like the full-length version of it, where he gets all over the top for his "hold on, dad!" speech then all serious for his talk to mom. It's hilarious.

* The Phillips CD Burner one, with the guy burning the CD for his girlfriend. She's this stunningly gorgeous redhead who I didn't notice was that beautiful until about the 100th time I was watching it. They sit down to eat dinner, and you expect to hear a lovely love song. Instead, it's this heavy-medal, grungy, icky-sounding "Let me call you sweetheart" song. The girl immediately gets into it, and the both of them get in this hilarious seat-dancing, head-bopping mode. Then, the wonderful ditty of a jingle, "You've got to admit it's getting better, it's getting better all the time" comes on.

* The robot one, it's either for Office Max or Staples. It's where they're saying this robot will be so great for the sale of electronics, but the robot won't let any of the elecronic equipment go because he's in love with it. Finally, the employees appease it with a new friend - a socket. It's so hilariously dirty at the end. I can't believe they get away with it.