2000-07-02

Homesick and a mess, posted at 06:16:09

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm officially homesick. I really should be home on the 4th of July weekend. I got the weekend off except for Sunday and Tuesday, and fireworks are Monday night... so I had the choice of going home the first half of the weekend (friday-saturday) or the second half (sunday night thru tuesday morning). I chose the second half, largely because of the fireworks. I rationalized it by saying I'd get lots done here at school if I stayed, like clean my room. Well, I started cleaning, and cleaned for a good 45 minutes... then I got pulled back into the computer. I was actually doing productive stuff, like updating my resume. But my room is still messy.

I tend to get depressed if I live in a mess for too long. I have for the last few years had this weird dichotomy where I live like a slob, but am a neat freak on the inside. I love things to be clean, but I'm not able to follow through on it. I always throw stuff down on my couch or on the floor and think, "I'll just take care of you later", but then it piles up over the coruse of a few days and the next thing I know I'm living in a disaster area. My room is like that now. Worst are my dishes, which I haven't done in weeks and have fruit flies around them. I'm serious. God, I wish I wasn't.

I went to the movies with Gale and Rebecca, and found "The Patriot" to be better than I expected, and better than most of the summer fare I've seen so far. Still, not great. A solid "B".