2000-07-05

Great weekend!, posted at 19:20:26

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm back from a weekend at home, which was wonderful. I often complain about my hometown for a number of reasons - and my some family's friends' comments about my upcoming teaching job ("So, I hear you're going to be teaching some black boys to speak English, eh? That's already two strikes against ya.") helped remind me of those reasons. But let's dwell on that one negative - my hometown can be awesome. It's a gorgeous town, the kind that I would like to visit for the rest of my life. We went out on Lake Michigan on my parents' boat, and the sun felt so good beating down on me, the water felt so nice, and the scenery is more beautiful than I ever see around here in Lansing. I don't really like small town mentality, or the whole everyone-knowing-everyone-else phenomenon. But South Haven, Michigan can be a wonderful place. It's absolutely beautiful.

I also saw "American Beauty" for the second time over the weekend, and I liked even better than the first time. The themes that ran through it - and the Wes Bentley quote of "Sometimes I feel like there's so much beauty in the world that I just can't stand it" - reminded me of the weekend. I was so happy over the weekend, surrounded by the beauty that is South Haven... happier than I'd been in a long time. And this has generally been a very happy summer, so it's not because it just looked good compared to where I am. It's just that, I dunno, beauty makes me happy, or something. All I know is that I understood that quotation much more than I ever had before when I heard it this weekend.

My price for the weekend? The worst sunburn of my life. I'm having a hard time moving. I even skipped class this morning because it was so bad. Here at work, in the cool air-conditioning, it's better.