2000-05-24

Wednesday afternoon ennui, posted at 19:18:23

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Life is good. It's May 24, and there's finally some sun out there today. Usually I'm a temperate climate fan -- 75 degrees, nothing too hot or cold. But I've been aching for sunshine so far this summer. I'm continuing to work out, and want to get a tan to go along with my (very) slowly decreasing body mass. I want to lay out in the sun and read Aristotle. Not for pleasure, but for my PLS 200 course, which is getting duller by the day.

I took a quiz today on PLS 100. The material is slightly more interesting in there (Locke as opposed to Aristotle), but the teacher is rather mediocre. He lets us out late every day (making me late for my next class), and is far too excitable. Usually this is a good thing, but he has a false quality about his excitement which just rubs me the wrong way.

Then again, for the first time since I can remember, I've gotten off to a good start in my classes. The only reason I'm bored is because the classes are two hours long and every day. There's nothing wrong with Aristotle, but he gets old quickly when beat over the head with it eight hours a week.

I'm at one of my new jobs and doing not much of anything. There's an awesome webcast of a Melissa Ferrick / Lori McKenna concert at discjockey.com, and I've been listening to that ever since I got here. My basic job is to cover the phones. I've gotten no phone calls.

Bored, bored, bored. But getting paid, paid, paid. $6.87/hour. Woo-hoo!