2000-05-24

Quitting, posted at 04:37:53

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I turned in a letter of resignation for my job at a coffee shop today. I've been there 13 months. Being the passive aggressive bastard that I am, the letter I wrote was full of nothing but apologies for leaving at a busy time. It went something like this (all from memory, it sounded slightly better than this):

Dear XXXX:

I have accepted a position working in the sports camp at MSU for the summer of 2000. It's a position similar to the one I held last summer while balancing work here, but holds much more responsibility. I could not turn down the position for both financial and professional development reasons.

Regrettably, I must end my tenure here. I have enjoyed my time here at XXXX, and look forward to continuing to frequent the establishment. Thanks for taking me on. My last day will be three weeks from today.

Sincerely,

Mark

NOW... I showed this letter to one of my co-workers before sliding it under the office door, and she said hers would have been much meaner. I tend to think that burning bridges never really does much, but I agree that getting certain things off of my chest probably would have been helpful. So, here's a revised letter:

Dear XXXX:

You have been, by far, the worst supervisor I have ever had the displeasure of working for. Inconsistent, moody, penny-pinching, and unfair. I've worked here 13 months, and in those 13 months I've seen a revolving door of employees come in and out of here. I, with my year+ of service, am the longest running employee you've got -- by seven months. Do you ever stop and ask yourself, "Why do all my employees leave?". Well, it's because of you. You are simply a poor supervisor, who inspires nothing but laziness and stealing by your employees.

Here's some tips on how to treat future employees:

*Don't gossip about your performance with other employees.

*If someone stays and works for you during Christmas, sacrificing time with their family, the very least that could be done is a verbal "Merry Christmas". The very least. Yes, I'd like some sort of bonus or gift, but I'd settle for a fricking sentence from you that you appreciated me.

*I should be making more the $6/hour after working there a year. I should be making more than people just starting out.

*I should have been allowed to work mornings.

*I would have liked things other than negative reinforcement. A, "Hey, you did a good job last night!", would have worked wonders.

*When I do something wrong, tell me now. Don't wait so you can use it for ammo later. Especially when I don't even know that I did wrong.

Phew! I feel better. I probably would have laced a few obscenities in there as well, but, hey, I'm passive agressive. Remember?