2000-07-19

Old friends, posted at 20:15:19

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Also over the weekend I got to go to a party and see some old friends. My friend Danielle has changed a lot since high school, and that makes sense (she was only a sophomore in high school when I left, and went to a college out of state). But she's still the Danielle I used to know, only better. I also got to see a few more people that I haven't seen in years and probably won't see in years again, if ever.

It's weird that I don't stay in touch with many folks from South Haven. I keep in touch with only about five people from high school, and rarely see those that I do. I saw Danielle for the first time in a year on Saturday, and will see Karen for the first time in a year on Tuesday the 25th. I still see Dave fairly often for a movie, in between his international jaunts. I keep in inconsistent e-mail contact with Sara and Tanya. There's a few more folks that I would hang out with if things ever lined up right (Cindy, Sarah, Julie, Scott), but I'm not holding my breath or seeking them out. And they're not seeking me out, either. I never really had a best friend in high school, I guess. I'm in contact with a few people still, and even close with a couple, but there's certainly a divide there. Mostly geographical, yes, but still a divide.

I wonder if the same thing will happen with my college friendships. Some friendships, I know, were friendships of the moment, and when I see old friends from different eras in my collegiate life, things are already weird. But I'd like to think that my core group of great friends that I made here will remain constant. I can now say that I've got a few best friends. I love them all to death. And I hope that even if my post-collegiate life sends me far away, things will still be the same.

Will they? Time will tell.