2000-10-27

Halloween Weekend, posted at 02:12:37

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Two of my students came to my apartment today trick or treating. It was neat. I think I'll be the type of teacher who will be successful by making connections to the lives of my students, so even though it's not something that is really "recommended", I didn't mind it at all.

It's been a decent day - can't complain. I had my midterm conference with my MT (Mentor Teacher) and Field Instructor, which is this big deal in which we have been warned can be very critical. It went very well. I feel like I'm doing a good job. I mess up a lot and every time I teach I can think of a thousand things I should have done differently, but I still feel like I'm doing more good than bad. My learning curve is so high right now, but it's progressive and exciting. I finished up my first week of Poe today. Today's lesson didn't feel as good as monday's ("The Tell-Tale Heart") or Wednesday's ("Annabel Lee"), but still went okay.

This week went by in a snap. I'm still really looking forward to the weekend. I miss Erin, who I haven't seen in about two weeks. My sister turns 20 on Tuesday, and I'm going home on Saturday to celebrate with her. I'm seeing Al Gore on Sunday, and Dan Bern on Tuesday. Lori Amey on Friday. Should be exciting, and usher in an end to my dull social life this week.