2000-10-25

Thank god for Blink 182!, posted at 14:08:17

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Thank goodness for Blink 182.

When most of radio is banal crap from the likes of middriff-baring teenage bimbos and the faux-sensitivity of boy bands, their music has been like an oasis on the radio in the last year.

It took me a while to catch on. I just bought their CD last week. There's nothing musically miraculous on it, but it sure is a lot of fun. Their style brings me back to my final two years of high school, when Green Day ruled the air waves.

I love the song "What's My Age Again?". It's happy, funny, but also sad. I love the line, "Nobody loves you when you're 23," which is pretty much a line that could suck in anyone who is 23. "Adam's Song" is horribly sad. "All the Small Things" is fun, but has some pathos too. Of course, I haven't gotten to far beyond listening to these three radio singles, but I can listen to them hundreds of times before I'm sick of them.

I'm excited about the weekend. Lori Amey on Friday night, home on Saturday, and Dan Bern on Tuesday. I just had a good lesson with "Annabel Lee" and "The Raven." Fun stuff.