2000-05-10

Wednesday Blahs, posted at 20:47:35

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Some people get depressed in the winter. Not me. Everything hits the fan for me in the summers.

Why? Because I've constantly chosen fields and lines of work that basically have a severe dropoff in the summers, meaning loads of friends and work partners leave in the summer. Leaving me lonely.

I had a fairly rotten day today. I got some potentially horrible news from my roommate-to-be that I hope is just graduation-induced anxiety. I try to be supportive, but in this case being supportive will screw me over. I was tired all day because of not one but two trips back and forth between here and South Haven within the span of eight hours. My father yelled at me. I got graduation pictures back, and the photos reminded me just how overweight I am. I scheduled an interview working in the same place I've worked each of the last three summers -- a job (or at least location -- the dorms) I thought I was finished with and I could go get a cool job waiting tables or being a bouncer at a bar. Our softball game, which I look forward to all week and the only reason I didn't work out today, was cancelled because there was some screwup with the schedule. The rest of my team went out to the bar after we found out, but I, for some reason, sulked and went home. Now I'm sitting alone on a Wednesday night, wondering where Andy is because I really want to see a movie. The only thing I really have to look forward to is "The West Wing". Sad. I'm actually considering watching the "90210" goodbye special. That's even sadder.

Why do I allow myself to get unhappy so quickly in the summer? This is something I'll definitely have to work on with my chosen field, since U.S. schools fail to realize that a year-round education with more, shorter breaks is the way to go. Ah well.

I need a change...

I'm not sure if I'll survive another summer like last summer.

My, I'm whiny.

Talk to you later.