2000-05-10

Graduation and Home, posted at 12:49:45

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, I'm finally back, after a nightmare week of finals, the excitement of graduation, and a few days in my lazy hometown of South Haven.

Graduation was nice. It wasn't sad, because there's really no finality for me... I have to take summer classes to finish up, plus I've still got a year of student teaching. Wait until next year at this time, when I'll be job-hunting, wondering if I'll stay in Michigan, deciding which direction I want my life to take. Then I'll be sad. But now I'm just happy. My parents, sister (and boyfriend), grandparents, and a few select aunts, uncles, and cousins came, and it was... well, nice. Took lots of pictures, which should be on my website soon.

I survived finals, and think I did pretty well. Which is a surprise, considering the rusty shell of a student I've become this semester. I somehow was able to pull it off *I hope* these last three weeks.

South Haven was nice. I went to the movies twice with Dave in one day. The South Haven Theater is still closed, which is a major bummer. Had to go to St. Joe. But we saw a couple of really good movies -- Frequency and Gladiator. My parents went out of town after I came home, so I didn't get to spend much time with them. But I bonded with my sister and her everpresent boyfriend, along with my wonderful dog. I think I hit my maximum capacity for South Haven though... the laziness of the town and the lack of things to do made me very excited to get back here to East Lansing.

There were a couple of really bad accidents in West Michigan over the weekend -- a State Cop died when struck during a routine traffic stop, and a few MSU students I didn't know had their tire explode on the highway (2 of the 3 are dead). I've been having these fears lately of getting in a bad car wreck, and these have only confirmed it. It's scaring me to get behind the wheel. I hope it passes.

My arguably best friend from high school got married over the weekend as well. He didn't invite me to the wedding. I'm bummed. I haven't talked to him over the year, only sending him a few e-mails that have never been responded to. I've never even met his wife. Oh well. A visit back to South Haven High School on Monday confirms that I now stay in touch with more ex-teachers than ex-classmates. That's sort of sad, but it typifies my relationship to my hometown and high school.

This has been a long and rambling entry, so I'll bring it to a close now. I'll be updating the webpage today with graduation pictures, so check it out.

Mark