2000-05-21

Marques and Michelle's Wedding Day, posted at 06:13:42

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I went to my friend Michelle's wedding today, and had a wonderful time. My freshmen and sophomore years of college, she and I (along with Jake and Jason) were nearly inseparable. Everything we did, we all did together. Her quirky personality and warm heart always have shined through. Even though our lives have taken different paths since those first two years of college, I'm so happy for her and Marques. It must be an absolutely wonderful feeling to have someone who wants to spend the rest of their life with you. I hope one day that I find my someone. (Nothing like a wedding of a close friend to remind yourself of your own inadequecies... but I digress).

I also came to the conclusion today that while I don't necessarily want to get married right now, I sure would like to have a wedding. I guess one of my skills is I'm a fairly good organizer of events, and would definitely go all out in organizing something as personal as a wedding. The music would be what I would be most excited about planning. You think Melissa Ferrick's "Til You're Dead" (Now I'm in your chair/And you talking to me/ I can see your lips moving/ But I don't hear a thing/ So pay attention I said/ To my aching head/ You know this is it you fool/ You're gonna be with this one/ 'Til you're dead) would be a nice romantic one to have played at the wedding? Probably not, but the possibilities are endless...

So, yup, this is the first of three weddings I'll attend of close friends in the next four weeks or so. Lots to make me feel pleny of emotions -- happiness, gratitude, loneliness, eagerness, the whole gamut.

It's probably just a defense mechanism, but I still say I don't want to get married until I'm 25 or so. I feel like I need to get to know myself, the world, and life a little bit more before I can commit to that. But, then again, it also could be just because I haven't found anyone yet. Or that I'm basically a pretty f**ked up and dysfunctional person when it comes to relationships. Who knows, anyway?

Either way, congratulations Marques and Michelle Huffer. I wish you all the happiness in the world.