2000-04-20

project, sheila nicholls, west wing, more, posted at 03:50:22

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I can't write too much, as I'm tired as hell.

I just got done spending pretty much six hours straight on a project that isn't due until Monday! I'm quite proud of myself. I don't generally work ahead. I'm really getting into it. It should be up and on-line by the weekend -- an on-line week-long lesson plan on teaching African American Poetry of the 20th century to high schoolers.

I'm not quite sure how I'm going to make it through the next few weeks with my sanity intact, but I'm going to do my best.

Fell in love with a new song today on the radio -- "Falling For You" by this chick named Sheila Nicholls. It's so gratifying to make a new musical discovery. It happens so rarely for me now, as I rarely listen to the radio anymore because it's always so disappointing. But this song kicks ass. I know nothing about the woman either. This alternately drives me crazy and makes me excited. Being so heavily involved in the Common Grounds, sometimes it's hard to get excited about music any more. Oh, it still happens, but seeing so much of it sometimes dulls it somewhat. Anyhow, hopefully I'll be getting the CD soon, so I'll be sure to update.

The West Wing is a great TV show. In fact, it's the only one that I plan on watching every week. If you haven't seen it yet, you're missing out. Aaron Sorkin is a terrific writer -- as great as David E. Kelley was before he flamed out and started recycling. Speaking of DEK, did you all know Billy died on Ally McBeal? That was traumatic. I just caught a rerun. Even though I don't watch the show anymore (or hardly ever), it was still a shocker to see Billy keel over in the courtroom. Oh, and everyone knows that Gil Bellows (the actor who played Billy) starred in "The Shawshank Redemption", the #4 best film of the nineties, right?

Oh, and I'm *really* looking forward to U-571, or whatever that submarine movie is called that comes out Friday.

Woo-hoo!