2000-06-30

Thoughts on the job, posted at 03:00:17

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I finished up my last final of the first session today, and it's a huge relief. I can't imagine how happy I'll be on August 18, when my last official undergraduate class will be over. When graduate hit, it didn't hit me that hard because I still had the summer classes. Well, it's starting to hit.

The job is going well. This has been the busiest week by far so far, and I feel like I've fallen behind in practice in dealing with kids, at least in a punitive way. It's hard for me to stay serious when disciplining a kid. Often, the things they do are minor, and my easygoing nature is just to be slack on "punishment". And that's not the way it's supposed to be, I guess. It's tough for me to be punitive. I'm getting better. But sometimes it's tough to be harsh with a kid brought to you because they said the word "damn".

I'm really glad I've taken this job for the summer - it's one of the smartest things I've done in a long time, and definitely my best and most productive summer since I arrived at college. It feels really good to say that. I look forward to going in to work.

That being said, I wish things would slow down a bit. Next week - a slow one for the camps - will be a good breather. I feel like I'm not getting a chance to get to know my staff like I wanted to. I'm really hoping I get the graduate assistant position, because that's something that I'd like to have - relationships with staff.