2002-11-09

A fun and drunk night in Baltimore, posted at 9:43 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm up early this morning for some reason, and the details from last night are still pretty resonant so I thought I'd try to capture them. It was one of the funnest and funniest nights I've had in a while. I'm pretty sure I made a bit of a fool of myself, but that's okay.

Right after the Faculty vs. Students soccer game, we headed over to Rocky Run for a couple of Happy Hour beers. I had three beers there over the span of two hours - not enough to incapacitate me, but enough to make me a little flowin'. I didn't eat anything except the free peanuts. The three beers cost $7 total.

Afterwards, I gave Kristin a ride back to her place so she could let her dogs out and shower. I hung out on her couch and warmed up half a baked potato she offered me. That was all I ate all night, which is probably the major factor in my getting very drunk. Oh, and the fact that I drank about eight beers. That might have contributed to it, too.

We headed over to Midtown afterwards, and met up with Nick, Randy, Michelle, Jay, Bill, a few of Michelle's friends, and Rob. It was a good mix of people, and I laughed a lot. One of the funniest moments of the night occurred when Rob looked across the table at me, smirked, and said, "So, stoner... I guess you decided to actually come out tonight, eh?", referring to last Saturday and the fact that apparently we had made some plans to meet up with people but in our altered state we preferred the couches and the entertainment of Beetlejuice instead. Everyone laughed, including me - everyone knew it was my first time doing it last week, so it was all good fun.

A little bit later, Violent Femmes' song "American Music" came on. I could barely hear it over the din of the bar, but it was there. When I did what I did last Saturday, I played that song over and over again, and it became my song of the week. I played it nearly every time I got in the car, singing along to the top of my lungs. The fact that it was playing in the bar really got me excited; I took it as a sign or something. I yelled down at Michelle, who had told me earlier in the week that it was one of her favorite songs, and told her we had to dance to it. I think I must have been pretty tanked at that point, and the place we were in was not a dance place, but I was ready to. She declined. I told her it was a sign that the song was on and we had to dance, and she accused me of just putting in on in the jukebox and pretending it was a sign as an excuse to dance. I swear I didn't, though. Heh.

I turned back to my side of the table, and told Kristin, "I want to go dancing." Nick, surprisingly, said, "Me too." Kristin nearly dropped her beer and yelled, "The boys want to go dancing, we've got to go!"

I then called Josh. It was a funny conversation. I told him that "American Music" had come on, and that had been the song of the week since we had gotten stoned together on Saturday (I whispered this), and that's why I called, that I took it for a sign to call Josh. He was sleeping, but laughed anyway. I guess "American Music" coming on was a sign of a lot of things for me.

A couple of RBVs later (Red Bull & Vodkas... no one knew what I was talking about when I called in an RBV, including the waiter... probably because I made up the name for it right on the spot... that was another laugh), we headed upstairs to the Spy Club. This is a neat place, very New York City-ish. It's an old mansion type place that has a spooky haunted house feel. A couple rooms are little dance rooms, a couple of other rooms are places with couches, there's a bar area, and a foyer area. It's a neat place, totally worth the $5 cover.

I was wearing this old style football jersey thing. Not a real football jersey, but sweatshirt made to look like an antique football jersey. It's got an 8 on the front. At two different points, I had to leave and go back down to Midtown. The door guy was funny. I said, "I've got to go down for a minute. I forgot something." He looked at me and said, "Number eight. Cool." When I came back up, he remembered me. The second time I did it, he said, "Man, I wish everyone wore numbers. It'd be so much easier then." I busted a gut laughing. It wasn't even that funny.

Back upstairs on the dance floor, I danced a lot. Often with Kristin, who is hot and now single but a good friend. Often in sort of a circle with others. Then, this guy off the side started dancing with these blue lights on his hands. It was the weirdest thing in the world. We all surmised he must have been on something, but it was still fun to watch. After a little bit, after staring harder, I realized that his blue lights were actually just lit up cell phones. I thought to myself, "That doesn't look too hard," and I started doing it. I pushed the button on my cell phone so it would light up, and starting waving my hand around in crazy patterns. I was my own little rave party. Just me and my cell phone.

Oh yes, I was in rare form.

Finally, we readied to go home. I had planned on crashing at Nick and Randy's place, but instead Rob was going back home so I caught a ride with him. Right before we left, Karen came and shook our hands and introduced herself. Karen with an I. She made a point of that. She was hot. Of course, I kicked myself later for having to leave right at that moment, although I'm pretty sure she was more after Rob that she was I.

Anyhow, it was a fun night. I'm currently sitting around waiting for Rob to drive me back to my car. Big football day today, and a big night of chaperoning the homecoming dance tonight.