Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2005

Fund raising, posted at 5:22 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

One of the crummiest part of teaching is the fundraising. I habitually do not bring my wallet into school so I can answer, "Sorry, I left my wallet in the car," but that does no good when it's something that I will receive in the future.

So when Monique, a sweet girl I had in one of my favorite classes three years ago, approached me on Monday and asked, "Mr. (Epiph), would you mind supporting my little brother's (church group, boy scout group, something) by buying something from this catalog," I just couldn't say no. Her eyes were pleading, and I felt guilty for having forgotten her name. I then hoped it was all meat, so I could refuse on the vegetarian grounds. Since there was cheese personal pan pizzas available, I couldn't think of a way out of it. I bought a pack of three for $12.95.

Today, she came for the money. I didn't have it. She'll come back tomorrow, I'm sure. I have to remember to bring stupid $13 to school, all because I can't say no.

Ugh.

Off to the gym, although I'm making a brief stop on my bed for a nap, because I'm still exhausted from the Sunday-Monday-Tuesday days at the restaurant.