2000-11-23

Things I'm thankful for., posted at 02:45:38

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Things to be thankful for:

* Finding a profession that I know I will enjoy for the next thirty or forty years.

* Having a wonderful, supportive family.

* Having a core group of five or so really good friends whose company I profoundly enjoy.

* Having a mentor teacher who genuinely cares both about our students and my development as a teacher.

* Erin, Jake, Jason, Gale, Kelly, Paul.

* Baseball.

* Fake tanning lotion.

* Morningstar Farms brand foods.

* The music of Brenda Kahn, Weezer, Ani DiFranco, Dan Bern, Counting Crows, Ben Harper, Doria Roberts, Melissa Ferrick, Tracy Chapman, Janis Joplin, Harry Chapin, Wally Pleasant, Alanis Morissette, 19 Wheels, Sinead O'Connor, Nirvana, Indigo Girls, Jeff Buckley, Aimee Mann, and Everclear.

* Poets and writers who throw words together in order to charge our senses - Alice Walker, Paul Beatty, Toni Morrison, Doug Coupland, Sylvia Plath, Louise Gluck, Maggie Estep, J.D. Salinger, Zora Neale Hurston, and Truman Capote.

* Filmmakers who really have moved me and changed my sense of the world: Paul Thomas Anderson, Peter Weir, Lisa Cholendenko, Cameron Crowe, Billy Bob Thornton, Robert Altman, Spike Jonze, and Tim Burton.

* My upbringing, which kept me safe, tolerant, and loved.

* My college experience, which I believe gave me a continuing, broad, and diverse education.

* The fact that I had money to go to college. (re: loans and parents)

* The fact that my life right now feels like I'm on the runway at an airport - the sky is my limit, the direction still undetermined. It's exciting.

* The fact that I've finally found an exercise program I can stick to.

* My time as an RA, which gave me some of best friends and experiences of my life.

* My dog.

* The night with S.