2002-04-04

Whirlwind tour of East Lansing, posted at 12:40 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Weah - what a day.

I've seen so many old friends today, and am feeling great about it.

My schedule:

3:00~ Get into town, go immediately to my 14-year old little cousin's house to pick her up to go to the movies. I thought about talking her out of the movies and into a Grand River shopping trip, but she seemed to have her heart set on her third viewing of We Were Soldiers, because it stars her beloved Mel Gibson. (One of my favorite pastimes with her is the great debate of who is better: Mel or Russell Crowe). It was a decent movie; I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

6:00~ Drop of Vicky, chat with my aunt a bit, then head off to campus. I'm set to meet Wolfin, Eleanor, and Zicchino at BW3 at 7 and think I'll be able to grab Alan or others before then.

6:30~ Stop by Akers. Am nearly overwhelmed with emotion as I pass through the halls and realize that I know no one. I finally find Kyeorda in her room. She gives me a huge hug and plays me a song on the guitar. It's nice, and still stuck in my head. "Maybe It's Me..."

7:15~ I leave Akers, late as usual. I get to BW3 at 7:30, and Wolfin and her little sister are there. I'm complimented on my weight loss (something I never get sick of hearing). I have a great two hours having dinner with them and chatting. I'm complimented on my ability to keep in touch with people.

9:00~ Wolfin, sister, and I leave to meet Eleanor and her little sister at the Barnes & Noble cafe. I'm amazed by the store; if this were here when I was a student here, I would have spent my money even more freely than I did. I give Eleanor her gift, and we bid adieu after chai lattes.

10:00~ I head over to Sny-Phi, where I drop by the rooms of two of my mentors from last year. They're doing well. They also can't believe I'm so skinny. (It doesn't ever get old, although admittedly "skinny" is stretching it.)

11:00~ I head over to see Scott in Case - he's a guy I supervised a couple of summers ago and really enjoyed. I'd be lying if I said his continued interest and enthusiasm didn't remind me a bit of myself a couple of years ago. We made tentative plans to see a Yankee game in a couple of weeks in NYC; that would be really cool.

12:00~ I'm now getting tired. I decide to try and say hi to Jerica while I'm case, despite the late hour. I'm also quite a bit tired, so I leave Scott's room to head to Jerica's. But I realize that I don't know where she is, so I turn around and return to Scott's room, asking, "Hey Jerica, you know where Scott lives?". Yup, I'm tired at this point.

12:05~ I leave a cryptic message on Jerica's dry erase board; she wasn't home.

12:10~ I head over to Kibibi's dorm at Van Heusen, where I've informed her I'm spending the night. Alan, easily one of the people I miss the most from MSU, is here. I didn't recognize him from the back (he now has braids!), but he jumped up and hugged me during the same second when I first recognized him. What a great moment. Nick will be coming over shortly. Kibibi and her roommate are engrossed in Don't Say a Word and I'm exhausted, so this won't be a wild and crazy night - just a good one.

Gotta go. More people to see tomorrow. I hear that Kelly High is pregnant! I also want to call Michelle, see Jake and Anne, and buy some MSU stuff.