2002-04-07

It's good to be back, posted at 1:20 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, I made it back to Baltimore. All in all, my spring break was good.

The first weekend was fun, especially Saturday night. Time with the family was nice, as was the movie on Wednesday with my cousin. Being back at the MSU campus was a heck of a lot of fun. Thursday night was a great night out with Hugasoul and Gale. We went to the Woodward Avenue Brewery and saw Aretha Franklin's son perform, and were the only three people in the audience. We felt guilty about leaving, but Nate eventually came and rescued us and showed us his new digs. (He wasn't bad, but I wasn't very into him and everyone was getting a little antsy. The audience was so sparse that he jokingly invited us up to sing karaoke to his guitar playing.)

Opening Day at Comerica Park with Gale was cool. The game was terrible - the Tigers lost 10-1, and were down 6-0 after just two innings - but the company was good. There was a bit of a blizzard during the game, which certainly was interesting.

I left for Baltimore right after the game, and made the trip overnight. The wintery weather during the trip home was brutal, and a reminder why I left Michigan. Drivers having to travel at 25 mph on the highway on April 5 because of blizzard conditions is not my idea of a good time.

The ending was a reminder of why I left, but my enjoyment of my time there is an indication to me that someday I could live in Michigan again. East Lansing is a city that I didn't take advantage of enough while I lived there; BW-3, with its bigscreen TVs and three differently themed rooms, is as cool a bar as almost any I've found here. Ferndale is also now on my list of cool cities in Michigan; I could see myself living in that sort of area if I ever decide to move back. I miss my friends, I miss being able to see Tiger games all the time, and I miss my family.

I'll be in B-more next year, and perhaps longer. But beyond that, I don't know where I'll end up. The plan to meet a girl who sweeps me off my feet and clarifies my future priorities has not been realized yet, or at least in the clear way that I was hoping for.

I don't mean to get pouty. It sure is nice to get back here to Baltimore. The weather is beautiful, and it's chilly for the area. I picked up Holden last night from Mike, and it's nice to have him back. (Polishstreak has given me some great tips on training him which I haven't been able to thank her yet for, but I'm eager to start trying out.) Neither of my roommates are back yet, so I've had the house to myself, which is nice. I decided not to call any of my Baltimore friends last night for a night out, instead opting for a quiet night in, doing housework and prepping for the upcoming week.

I'm about to kicked off this library computer, so I best be going. It's good to be back, even though it's going to be tough to go back to school tomorrow.