2002-03-28

Weird meeting, posted at 12:44 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So I just got done with my annual evaluation meeting with my principal.

I am so uncomfortable talking with man! He marches to the beat of his own drummer, and has an odd communication style. I can never figure out if he's waiting for me to say something, or if he's pausing for air in between harangues. I think, overall, that he's a good guy with a vision. But he's not a people person, is a numbers cruncher, and is just tough to talk to.

The staff, for the most part, hates him. Younger colleagues don't mind him, but everyone who has been here for some time has a real problem with him. I try not to be swayed by this opinion, although it's difficult to ignore it. I don't have much of an opinion.

There's a portion of the meeting where he asks if there's anything he could do to make my life easier. I mentioned that it'd be nice if we had a school store, where students could easily buy books rather than having teachers take a large sum of money to a book store to buy books. That was not a smart move. Apparently I've been breaking state law by taking money without giving a receipt. Oops.

If I didn't do it, though, half of my kids wouldn't buy a book and I'd be screwed as a teacher.

The meeting wasn't bad. Just weird. And just because he's weird.

I'm ready for spring break. I feel unsettled, although that meeting was a confirmation that I'd been rehired and I guess that's nice.