2002-09-14

Freaking out about tonight's house concert, posted at 5:56 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Current time: 6pm

Time of house concert: 8pm

Number of former Lilith Fair Performers currently in my house, ready to perform: 1

Number of percussionists she brought with her: 1

Number of hours they drove to get here: 7.5

Number of shows she's doing while here: 1 (mine)

Number of people who are coming: the variable X

My level of freakout because of X is unknown: very high

Number of times I get quick imaginary glimpses of what the show would look like with only six people here: about one a minute

Number of hours I slept last night getting the place ready: 3

Number of stops today on my errand run: 8

Number of hours spent cleaning, last two days: 15

Number of people who have given definite answer they're coming: 4

Number of people who have said "maybe": 12

Number of times Lori will do a goofy folk cover of TLC's "No Scrubs": 1 (cross your fingers)

Number of times she'll sing an erotic version of "Rubber Ducky": 1 (that's a given)

Number of her CDs I'll buy from her: 1 (the one I don't have)

Number of beers I'll drink tonight if the turnout is good: 3

Number of beers I'll drink tonight if the turnout sucks: possibly all 12 I bought

Number of times I'll joke that the beer I bought, Michelob Ultra Light (98 calories, 2.5 carbs per), should be renamed "health beer" and be sold at GNC: 3 times beyond its humor quotient

Number of times I'll apologize if the turnout is low: until I have to apologize for apologizing so much