2002-06-03

Cat naming, posted at 12:50 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Okay, it's time for another "Name my new animal" Quiz, because I'm just having a hard time.

Here are my six options, along with explanations:

1) Gepetto. Pros: It's a cool name. It's the name of one of my favorite songs of all-time (by Belly, the underrated early-nineties band led by Tanya Donnelly). It's unique. Cons: It's kind of long. It felt kind of goofy saying it when I was trying it out on him last night.

2) Atticus. Pros: It's a cool name, and named after one of my favorite literary characters. I could call him "Atticus the catticus", as Bertie suggests. Cons: I dunno, it just seems not to fit him, since Atticus was all about racial harmony and the cat cannot yet seem to get along with the dog. And I hate to feel like a dork when I go to the vet.

3) Finny Pros: A late addition to the game, this is a nod to two novels I like - A Separate Peace and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. It's a cool name, as well. Cons: There aren't a whole lot, except I think it's mildly dorky.

4) Plato Pros: It's funny. Cons: It's snooty.

5) Tea Cake Pros: He's a cool character in what is probably my favorite novel. The character is black, and so is my cat. Cons: I'll have to explain it too often. Tea Cake, the character, had a dark side.

6) Poe Pros: Poe is one of my favorite authors, and he's from Baltimore. Barani liked the name. Cons: Too common of a name?

So, please fill out the quizlet. I'm not guaranteeing I'll go with the winner, but you never know...