2002-02-25

It's going to be a stressful week, posted at 2:38 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This is the start of what could very well be the most stressful week of the semester.

A) My formal observation is Thursday. That includes the pre-meeting on Wed. and the post-meeting on Fri.

B) Not only is my formal this week, but I'm not well-planned out. I feel like I'm treading water a bit when I'm between novels. I was planning on doing an Of Mice and Men mock trial, but am worried about doing something so ripe with possibilities of failure. So now my big thing this week is "How to write a Paragraph." Doesn't that sound enthralling? My dept head wants to see a writing lesson. Let's hope it goes okay.

C) A lot of my plans this week are contingent on my students having read Annie John over the summer. I'm estimating about half of them did, that's all. They're taking an objective test right now over it. We'll see, I guess. If scores are horrible, I may have re-evaluate what I'm going to do this week.

D) I'm stressed out in particular today because I didn't get here until 8:22. 8:22! School starts at 8:25. I was so stressed out. I got caught in an awful traffic jam in between the gym and school. I left the gym at 7:37, so it took over 40 minutes to get to school from there. That's absolutely ridiculous. I feel like things have been amok all day because of it. It doesn't help matters that my lesson plans were not very precise today. I'm giving this test, and that's the brunt of things. It's the other parts that are a little weak.

E) I had asparagus for dinner last night, and for lunch today. That's good; I love asparagus. But it makes my pee smell really bad. And I've had to pee six times today. Ugh.

F) Baseball starts on Friday. I wish it was next week.

G) I can't wait for the weekend. Already.