2002-02-23

getting errands done, psychoanalysis, posted at 12:38 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Happy Saturday! The sun is shining and it's good to be alive.

Last night, I ended up doing both - going to the euchre tournament, and then going out with friends. Nick and I had made plans to do something, but he was nowhere to be found at 9pm, so instead Jeremy and I went out with Teri and Marcia. It was hilarious. Marcia is my 40-ish friend from Boston, and he and Teri spent the whole couple hours psychoanalyzing Jeremy. It started off - somehow - by him telling the Berty story from Lilith Fair. We were talking about differences in our personalities, and our reactions to that situations were very different (I think this was precipitated by Berty calling a couple of weekends ago. I was asleep, and Josh answered the phone. Josh told Berty that I was asleep, but upon hearing she was a friend from back home in Michigan, he said, "But Jeremy's right here. Wanna talk to him?". Berty - and I've only heard this from Josh, not from her yet, so I take it with a grain of salt - apparently quickly and decisively said she did not want to talk to Jeremy. We've sort of joked about it since that time.) Anyhow, Jeremy brought that up last night, and then this segued into his little fling he just had. It was so funny. Marcia is a complete and total riot. I cannot adequately capture her in words, but this woman spent most of the time analyzing Jeremy's relationship and the girl he was dating. In a nice way, he said that both were clueless. It was hysterical. We all laughed so much.

I didn't feel much like drinking last night, so I was able to drive home. We had made arrangements to have Josh, who did not want to go out, pick us up if we imbibed too freely, but that was not necessary. Jeremy and I were a bit worried that if we did get drunk, that we would let our words spill too freely on the ride home: "(insert hiccuping drunk talk here)So, Josh, we were thinking (hiccup) about this whole six weeks rent-free thing (hiccup). We had thought it would be, like, six days. What's up with that? And (hiccup) what's up with the dishes? Why don't you ever do them? (hiccup) Our heating bill was $300 this month. What's up with not helping out with it? (hiccup)"

But we didn't.

Today, I'm taking care of some errands that I had meant to do long ago. I finally sent out Hugasoul's box of stuff, including her b-day present (way late) and her scarf (even later). Note to subsequent visitors of my home: if you leave something at my house, you may not get it back for months, and then it may be covered in Holden love. Oops. I can be so flaky sometimes.

I also brought my DVD player into Best Buy for service today. Finally. I'm not sure how much it will cost, but it doesn't make too much sense to have a mildly impressive DVD collection with no capabilities of playing them.

Also on the agenda for the afternoon: a workout at Bally, a trip to the bank to deposit some checks from the insurance company, and a trip to Blockbuster to verify that we don't owe anything more for not returning Apryl's DVD of Legally Blonde. Tonight will probably consist of more going out and hanging out with friends.

Life is good.