2002-11-07

I got told to shut up, posted at 10:54 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A girl told me to shut up today during class, prompting my first use of the office for the year.

She had her head down a number of times throughout the period, and I had to remind her every time to sit up. Eventually I got irritated, especially when it took three times asking her the last time. She's failing the class, then she spends the class with her head down? Not going to fly with Mr. Epiphany.

At the end of class, we were going to listen to Eugenia Collier's short story "Marigolds," which by the way is an incredible little short story - one of my all-time favorites. Each student numbered off, and each group had a separate task to complete as they were listening to the story. One group had to jot compare/contrast notes between the story and To Kill a Mockingbird. Another had to analyze the changing meaning of the metaphor of the title, jotting down key lines as they went. There were five groups total. I'm not sure yet what I'll do with them (tomorrow's an assembly all day, so we won't be continuing tomorrow), but it was a way for them to focus on the story.

Anyhow, as a way make sure everyone listened and no one put their head down or slept, I told all the classes that if everyone stayed focused on the story and no one put their head down or dozed off and jotted down their notes, then there would be no homework that night. I told them that one person could spoil it for everyone, so to make sure to nudge their neighbor if they noticed he or she not paying attention - if they noticed it before I did, they would still be safe. This worked well in the other classes. It wasn't an empty threat, either. I caught three kids with their heads down in first period, and I assigned homework. You should have seen me. I was so mean. After listening to the story, I said, "Well, it looks like we will be having homework tonight, and you all can thank Britney, Charles, and Kelly, who chose to sleep during the last twenty minutes of class rather than follow along with the story."

That class has been getting a little fresh lately, anyway, so they deserve it.

Anyhow, I was explaining this rule to my 7th period class, the one with the "shut up" girl. We'll call her Kelita. Anyhow, I was explaining the nudge-your-neighbor policy to the students, and I glanced over at Kelita and the two people sitting next to her. With a touch of grin, I told her two neighbors that they're going to be real busy keeping Kelita awake if the story goes like the rest of class had. She put her head up and said, "No they won't have to be busy, and you can shut up!"

Woah.

I was taken aback, but I remained calm. I'm a very calm guy. I rarely if ever lose my temper for any reason at all. Anyhow, I took a breath and said, "Excuse me, Kelita, but that's an inappropriate comment to make to a teacher. I think I'm going to have to ask you to leave my classroom. Please take your things and go to the office." I then walked slowly over to the phone in my room, called the office, and told them to expect a student momentarily. I glared at her until she slowly - so, so slowly - got her stuff and left. I was not angry, and I debated about what to do, but it seemed like it would be very detrimental to leave a comment like "shut up" to a discussion in the hallway and my own personal detention. I figured I needed something swifter and more severe in front of the other kids. So the office it was, even though I hate to be the type of teacher who uses the office.

She had to talk with the Assistant Principal, something that makes me nervous and so I'm sure it made her nervous as well. Later, the AP told me Kelita had been going through a real tough time lately, that her mom had just been thrown into jail, that she had to move to a foster parent, and that she got A's in English last year and now was failing. She said Kelita broke down crying in her office, and this is a tough girl with a lot of bluster.

On one hand, I feel like crap. I probably should have noticed her attitude changing in the last couple of weeks and tried to talk with her after class or something. On the other hand, I'm already spending way more time at school than I should be (today I left at 6:30), so it's not like I'm slacking. Sending her to the office today at least got her into the guidance office, and the AP is calling her current guardian to come into school and chat.

Tomorrow is this big stressful day with a long assembly that my classes aren't invited to so we have to watch it on the closed-circuit TV, then the pep rally which should be a lot of fun. Last year, I remember being astonished at my first urban pep rally. They are truly a sight to behold. I'm actually pretty darn excited about that.

After the pep rally is the annual Students Vs. Faculty Soccer Game. Cheating is allowed for the good guys. I'm sort of sore right now because I've had a great week of working out, but I might have overdid it tonight. I got to the gym at 8pm, and was all settled to leave at 9pm when Mike called me and wanted to play raquetball. I went in and waited for him, but instead of just sitting there I went on the eliptical machine for 40 minutes - on top of the 2.5 miles I'd already run and the hard ab workout I had completed. Then I played a game of raquetball, but was so whipped that I lost. And my shoulder is killing me.

Tomorrow is payday, though. And Friday. And I'm going out and getting drunk after the soccer game. We have a spirited game of Risdonania planned, but now the inventor may not be able to make it. May have to make due without her. Still trying to decide between Midtown (the usual), Bertha's (been once... it was cool with good music), or something completely different.