Saturday, Nov. 16, 2002

Samples Show, posted at 10:25 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've been out four nights in a row, and look forward to having a quiet evening at home today. I might do some thrift shopping this afternoon and will definitely be heading to the gym, but otherwise, there's going to be a lot of hanging around here and cleaning. I'm tired of the house looking this way.

Yesterday, our department and the math department headed to Brewer's Art, one of my favorite hangouts in Baltimore. One reason I love Baltimore is that it has such a wide variety of types of hangouts. You can low-scale and blue-collar, or you can go upper-scale and upper-class, or swanky NYC-style, or jazz club style, or sweaty dance club style, or somewhere in between. I would characterize Brewer's Art - with its Mt. Vernon location, huge antique couches, dungeon-like basement, and swanky upstairs - as sort of a NYC-style hangout. It's a huge refashioned townhouse, and is just a very relaxing place to hang out. They also brew their own beers, and all are quite good.

Anyhow, we were there from 4:30 until about 8, when Ryan, Felicity, and Nick came to pick us up to go to the Samples show at Recher. I'd never been there before, but I was pretty impressed - not too smoky for a bar venue, fake torches on the red velvety walls that reminded me of Survivor, and a good view from everywhere. The Samples were okay. I thought the lead singer had a whiny, unpleasant voice, but they had some fun songs. I was glad to go with Ryan and Felicity, and he had proposed to her at the last show they had seen together. When he had asked me to go, I felt like I wanted to be supportive and share in something that they like. They're the type to be incredibly supportive of me, so I was happy to recripocate. I don't see Felicity enough, either. She's someone that I feel like I can talk to about nearly anything, and I did talk her ear off last night a bit about a few issues that have come up lately in my life that I'm having a hard time articulating in this journal. She looks and acts just like Sandra Bullock at her most charming. Ryan and Felicity are some of my favorite people I've met in Baltimore. I'm glad that if I ever move back to Michigan, that they'll be moving back in a few years as well.

Anyhow, Recher gets some good bands every now and then. After seeing how nice the venue is, I'm definitely going to see Aimee Mann on Dec. 8. I'd also love to see Steve Earle this Tuesday, but I'm not too sure on that one. I've already gone over my Epiphany spending money for this paycheck. Keeping to a budget definitely makes things less stressful, though.

I was out until 1am, and was freaking exhausted by the time Nick drove me back to my car. On the way, he opened my ears to Mos' Def and let me borrow a CD. I'm loving it - damn good stuff. His CD was one that I put in and lost myself in until I got home. His evocative words made my thoughts leap off into tangents and helped me straighten out some thoughts in my head, and the short drive flew by.

I'm mentally exhausted after the past week, and need the raininess of today to alleviate some of my sagginess. I'm about to start blasting music and cleaning.

By the way, wait until you see my new layout. It's forthcoming. It won't be extremely special or anything - since I'll be doing some of the work on my own - but I'm excited.